Youngsters earn call-up as India name T20I squad for West Indies

India has unveiled a vibrant T20I squad for the forthcoming series against West Indies in August.

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma have been rewarded with call-ups to the Indian team for the T20I segment of the West Indies tour, while seasoned players like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma remain absent.

Mukesh Kumar, who was already included in the Test and ODI squad, has also earned a spot in the T20I lineup, while Sanju Samson returns as the designated wicketkeeper.

Jitesh Sharma, who served as the backup keeper in the previous series against New Zealand at home, has not made the cut this time. Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda, and Shivam Mavi, all of whom participated in the New Zealand T20Is, have also been left out. The wicketkeeping duties in the squad will be shared between Ishan Kishan and Samson.

Ravi Bishnoi makes a comeback to the squad, joining Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav as the spin options, with Axar Patel being retained. Ravindra Jadeja has not been included in the squad.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, initially chosen for the T20Is against New Zealand, has been excluded from the named squad due to the impressive performance of Tilak Varma during the IPL season. Jaiswal, who also excelled in the IPL, has secured a place and could potentially open the batting alongside Shubman Gill.

The pace department consists of Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, and Arshdeep Singh. Hardik Pandya is expected to contribute a few overs of pace himself, as he regained his bowling fitness during the IPL.

India’s T20I squad for the series comprises Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar.

Leave a Comment