ICC Announces Star-Studded Commentary Team for Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Some of the biggest names in cricket will share their knowledge during the broadcast of the upcoming tournament.

The ICC will provide an amazing viewing experience during the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The event will take place at nine locations across the USA and West Indies, featuring famous cricket and broadcasting personalities.

Leading the commentary team are well-known figures like Ravi Shastri, Nasser Hussain, Ian Smith, Mel Jones, Harsha Bhogle, and Ian Bishop.

Adding to the insights on the modern game, former Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cup champions such as Dinesh Karthik, Ebony Rainford-Brent, Samuel Badree, Carlos Brathwaite, Steve Smith, Aaron Finch, and Lisa Sthalekar will join the team.

Former 50-over World Cup winners like Ricky Ponting, Sunil Gavaskar, Matthew Hayden, Ramiz Raja, Eoin Morgan, Tom Moody, and Wasim Akram will also share their expert analysis.

American commentator James O’Brien, known as Jomboy, will make his World Cup debut to help American audiences understand the games better.

Other big names in the commentary team include Dale Steyn, Graeme Smith, Michael Atherton, Waqar Younis, Simon Doull, Shaun Pollock, and Katey Martin. Renowned broadcasters like Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Natalie Germanos, Danny Morrison, Alison Mitchell, Alan Wilkins, Brian Murgatroyd, Mike Haysman, Ian Ward, Athar Ali Khan, Russel Arnold, Niall O’Brien, Kass Naidoo, and former West Indies captain Daren Ganga will also be part of the team.

The ICC will cover the tournament extensively over 28 days, featuring a pre-match show, an innings interval program, and a post-match wrap-up.

Building on the success of the vertical feed at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, ICC TV will introduce an AI-supported vertical feed for the T20 World Cup. This innovative feature, created in collaboration with Disney Star, Quidich Innovation Labs, and NEP, will be a world first for cricket.

What the Commentators Said:

Aaron Finch: “This is a special event with 20 teams competing and many thrilling matches ahead. I am proud to have led Australia to victory in 2021 and will bring my experience as a player to my commentary.”

Carlos Brathwaite: “The T20 World Cup is close to my heart, and I’m thrilled this edition is being played in the West Indies and for the first time in the USA. I can’t wait to be a commentator for this event and hope it’s truly memorable.”

Katey Martin: “This tournament always has surprises. With 20 teams participating, it will be exciting to see some of the smaller teams play against the bigger ones. I am excited to be part of such a fantastic team of broadcasters.”

Dinesh Karthik: “This tournament will be different in many ways, making it even more exciting. With 20 teams, 55 matches, and new venues, it’s a thrilling combination. Being part of such a high-class commentary team is a fantastic feeling.”

Ebony Rainford-Brent: “This is the year of ICC T20 World Cups, with the men’s tournament coming up and the women’s tournament following in Bangladesh. I’ve worked at several ICC events, and they keep getting better. I can’t wait to share my views alongside the best from around the world.”

Dale Steyn: “The Men’s T20 World Cup, with its new format and more teams, is a great opportunity to spread the game. I’m sure both old and new cricket fans will be eager for the action to begin. I will be watching every team closely to see the different tactics.”

Limited tickets are still available for all matches in New York. Fans can enjoy premium seating and meet cricket legends at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium. Visit tickets.t20worldcup.com to get your tickets.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *